2018 William Saroyan Writing Contest Images

2014 Fresno State Young Writers Conference Award Winner

At the 2014 Young Writers Conference on April 2nd 2014, Natasha Martin from Mission Oak High School was presented by Society Board member Dennis Elia.

 Natasha Martin


2014 William Saroyan Writing Contest


Saroyan Award at the Young Writers’ Conference

At the 2012 Young Writers Conference on March 28, Taralyn Culpepper from Lemoore High School was presented by Society Board member Brenda Magarity for her story of The Boxer’s.

Taralyn Culpepper and Brenda Magarity

William Saroyan Society

Young Writer’s Conference winners on March 28,2012

At the 2011 conference on April 6, Borin Setha from Duncan Polytechincal High School was presented the award by Society Board member Brenda Magarity for his work of creative fiction ALONG THE ROAD.

Borin Setha and Brenda Magarity

William Saroyan Society
2010 award was presented to Emily Kroeker from Clovis East High School for her work of creative fiction THE SOUND OF LIFE.
2009 award was presented to Victor Sandoval from Yosemite High School for his work of fiction entitled TRISHA.

2012 William Saroyan Story Writing Contest

Here are the winners of the 2012 William Saroyan Story Writing Contest.

William Saroyan Society Writing Contest 2012

William Saroyan Winners 2012

The William Saroyan Story Writing Contest 2010-2011

The Society presented the 2011 Contest Winners at the Awards Ceremony on April 14, 2011 at the Woodward Park Regional Library.

The William Saroyan Story Writing Contest 2009

2009 Award Winners

Each honoree’s name is followed by the name of their school and the city/state in which they reside.

Grades 1-2

1st Ryan Bishop – Quail Lake Charter (Clovis);2nd Ryan M. Hioe – Garfield Elementary (Clovis);

3rd Mark Topoozian – Malloch (Fresno)

Grades 3-4

1st Talie Lynn Cloud – Quail Lake (Clovis); 2nd Adam Abajian – Quail Lake (Clovis); 3rd Morgan McLaury – Sun Empire (Kerman)

Honorable Mention: Jordan Ayerza – Sun Empire (Kerman); Amanda Street – Big Creek Elementary (Big Creek); Macey Hammerstrom – Reagan Elementary (Kingsburg)

Grades 5-6

1st Leslie Chavez – Powers-Ginsburg (Fresno);2nd Samantha C. Apodaca – Fancher Creek (Fresno)

3rd Uriel Bosques – Powers-Ginsburg (Fresno)

Honorable Mention:  Luis Figueroa – Powers-Ginsburg (Fresno);Brandon Pattillo – Powers-Ginsburg (Fresno)

Grades 7-9

1st Faith McCoy – Mariposa Middle School (Mariposa); 2nd Chlorissa Prothro – Foothill Middle School (Tollhouse); 3rd Arianna Brown – Central H.S. West (Fresno)

Honorable Mention:  Sandra Limon – Bullard H.S. (Fresno); Pamela Bobadilla – Edison H.S. (Fresno)

William Tang – Kastner Intermediate (Fresno); Kristin Simmons – Rayburn Intermediate (Clovis)

Julia Crespi – Mariposa Middle School (Mariposa); Raquel Campozano – El Monte Middle School (Orosi)

Grades 10-12

1st Quinn Western – San Joaquin Memorial (Fresno);2nd Charles M. Kennedy – The Wardlaw-Hartridge School (Edison, N.J.; 3rd Elijah Cotton – J.C. Montgomery (Hanford)

Honorable Mention:  Molly Kim Lao – Sunnyside H.S. (Fresno)


1st Christel Teesy – Fresno Pacific University (Fresno); 2nd Eileen Frank – College of the Sequoias (Visalia); 3rd Deborah Hamilton – Clovis Center (Clovis)

William Saroyan Centennial Prizes for Fiction, Non-Fiction & Drama

The William Saroyan Society in cooperation with the San Joaquin Valley Writers Project has not yet set a new schedule for the prize program.

Centennial Awards published in In The Grove, issue 17 Summer 2009.

Publication of the Best of the William Saroyan Writing Contest

Announcement: A limited number of copies of the book are available at $20 including tax.  To order call 559-221-1441 for availability and delivery costs.

William Saroyan Society
On September 24, the William Saroyan Society announced the publication of selected stories from the winning stories during the 26 years of the William Saroyan Story Writing Contest for students in grades 1 thorough college.  The hardbound book entitled The Best of the Best; 26 years of winning stories from the William Saroyan writing contests was presented to the 23 winning students and their schools.  Shown receiving their books from Superintendent Larry Powell (left) and County Librarian Karen Bosch Cobb & John Kallenberg (right) are Michele (Ediger) Bowling, Juan Rangel, Gabriela Pauli, and John Halajian.

The contest began in 1982 and the stories were selected from the first place winners in each category for each of the 26 years to 2008.  This publication was commissioned during the centennial celebration of the birth of Mr. Saroyan.  19 schools from the San Joaquin Valley were represented in the winning stories.